top of page

Star Award Winners

IALA Star Awards
Nomination Details
Deadline : September 18, 2024

Nurse of the Year or Administrator of the Year – This nominee must be employed by an active IALA AL
community member for a minimum of six months. They must demonstrate exceptional professionalism and service
in a management or non-management position. Also, they must exhibit service above and beyond their normal job
responsibilities through outstanding leadership qualities, performing heroic deeds, &/or consistently adding to the
general well-being of the tenants.

Community Property – This award is presented to an IALA community property that demonstrates outstanding
performance. Examples might include consistently high occupancy, innovative renovations or remodeling, special
events offered, awards received and tenant comments. This is an opportunity for the community property and all
the people associated with it to shine. Please provide six or more photos of the AL community.

Associate Member - Candidate for this award should have demonstrated year around participation, involvement
with conferences and educational meetings and offered IALA members exceptional value and service.

Frank Takes Dare to Dream - Candidate will be the person responsible at your community who encourages tenants
or employees to dare to dream, then were instrumental in making it come true. This person should demonstrate
the ingenuity, compassion and dedication of Frank Takes, a pioneer for our industry and for IALA. Please include
three or more pictures of your Dare to Dream nomination, along with their dare to dream.

NEW THIS YEAR are Four (4) Hero Award Categories – This award is for any employee from one of our member
communities that has been there for a minimum of six months and demonstrate service “above and beyond” for the
tenants and community in which they serve. When selecting someone for a Hero award be sure to check the Hero
category then include the department where they work.

To submit your nomination- Please provide narrative of why this nominee is deserving of this year’s Star Award
along with photo(s) of your nominee. Please be sure you and your nominee are attending the conference.


Awards Presentation  - Star Awards will be presented throughout the day on both days of the conference. The
conference will be on October 23 & 24, 2024 at the West Des Moines Marriott.


To submit your nomination, please fill out the nomination form, choose the category the
nomination is for, then enter your narrative on why your nominee is deserving of the award. Remember to attach
your photo(s). Once you complete your nomination and attach photo(s) click on “submit” and we will certainly give
your nominee our consideration.

NOTE: Your write up must be 300 words or more.

Deadline to submit nominations: September 18, 2024.

Thank you!

Congratulations to the Past Winners

Dare to Dream Award

Cari Jack, Keelson Harbour, Spirit Lake
Cody Flietner, Addington Place, Mount Pleasant
Courtyard Estates of Hawthorne Crossing, Bondurant

Nurse of the Year

Tonia Cox, Melrose Meadows, Iowa City
Dot Donaldson, Jaybird Senior Living, Cedar Rapids
Heather Kling, RN, Edencrest at Green Meadows, Johnston

Hero Award

Jeeva Dhungana, 3801 Grand, Des Moines
Larry Cox, Edencrest at Beaverdale, Des Moines
Amaya Pike, Lawton Senior Living, Lawton
Anne Stramel, Melrose Meadows, Iowa City
Joyce Charley, Clover Ridge Place
Robin Overton, 3801 Grand, Des Moines
Devon Brockmeyer, Prairie Hills of Independence
Rachel Ousley, Melrose Meadows, Iowa City

Associate Member of the Year

Debbie Fisher, Newbury Living, West Des Moines
CE Solutions, Waterloo
CenterWell Home Health, Urbandale

Administrator of the Year

Chris Beach, Edencrest at Beaverdale, Des Moines
Amanda Smith, Holstein Senior Living, Holstein
Kelly Sheets,  Arlington Place of Pocahontas

Community Property of the Year

Lakeside Village, Panora
Addington Place Mount Pleasant
Vintage Hills of Indianola
bottom of page